Somaliland, is an unrecognized sovereign state in the Horn of Africa, internationally considered to be part of Somalia. Somaliland lies in the Horn of Africa, on the southern coast of the Gulf of Aden. It is bordered by Djibouti to the northwest, Ethiopia to the south and west, and Somalia to the east. Its claimed territory has an area of 176,120 square kilometers (68,000 sq mi). The government of Somaliland regards itself as the successor state to British Somaliland, which, as the briefly independent State of Somaliland, united in 1960 with the Trust Territory of Somaliland (the former Italian Somaliland) to form the Somali Republic. In September 1994, the Parliament of Somaliland endorsed President Egal's plans to introduce a new form of currency to replace the Somali shilling. The Somaliland (SL) shilling was introduced on 18 October 1994 at a rate of one new Somaliland shilling to 100 Somali shillings. The Somali shilling ceased to be accepted as legal tender in Somaliland on 31 January 1995.


Obverse Reverse Prefix Inv Num Date Country Denom Topic Comments Fineness ASW Metal KM Grade Value $
FC 31503
1998 SOMALILAND 5 Dollars Titanic sinking at Sea Eagle with Scales     Copper-Nickel   Bril. Uncirculated $15.00
Date of last update: 05/16/2022