The Ionian Islands are a group of islands in Greece. They are traditionally called the Heptanese ("Seven Islands"), but the group includes many smaller islands as well as the seven principal ones. The Ionian Islands Region is the smallest, by area, of the thirteen administrative regions of Greece. As a distinct historic region, they date to the centuries-long Venetian rule, which preserved them from becoming part of the Ottoman Empire and created a distinct cultural identity with many Italian influences. The Ionian Islands became part of the modern Greek state in 1864. Administratively today, they belong to the Ionian Islands Region except for Kythera, which belongs to the Attica Region.


Obverse Reverse Prefix Inv  Num Date Country Denom Topic Comments Fineness ASW Metal KM Grade  Value $ 
FC 22097 1820 IONIAN ISLANDS 2 Lepta Winged Lion Above Date   ¬†Copper 31 Extremely Fine $140.00
    FC 22098 1857 IONIAN ISLANDS 30 Lepta     0.930 0.0419 Silver 35 Extremely Fine $450.00
FC 24156 1966 IONIAN ISLANDS 50 Aspara Order of St. Dennis of Zante Mintage 2,202     Silver-Clad   Proof $30.00
FC 24157
1966 IONIAN ISLANDS 100 Aspara Order of St. Dennis of Zante Mintage 2,202     Silver-Clad   Proof $40.00


Telephone 508-548-7075 
Fax 508-495-6533 (24 hours)
Orders Only please: 888-US COINS (888-872-6467)
Postal address:
11 Town Hall Square, Falmouth, Massachusetts 02540 
Electronic mail 
General Information:

We ship via USPS: weight + content value = rate

Send mail to: with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright © 1998-2019 Falmouth Stamp & Coin
Date of last update: 09/30/21